Books

July Reading Wrap-Up

So, hey. I’d like to lay out a book-related post at the end of each month to keep track of my reading habits. Reading is something I’m very much trying to get back into again after a few years of being in a constant slump, and while Goodreads is growing on me, it’s nice to do a summary every once in a while.

July has felt like a bit of a slow-down month in terms of reading. While I felt really buzzed and enthusiastic in May and June, I can’t say that having more time to dedicate to reading has helped me, well, dedicate more time to reading. (But then again, my enthusiasm also depends on what it is I’ve chosen to read. Surprising, right?)

July Reads

So, a quick look at July:

Books Finished in July: 1 (that’s good, right?)
Books Taking into August:
2

Currently Reading

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
Page 123. Right now, I’m not enjoying this. But the goal is to have a classic on the go at all times, and how silly is it that I’m a literature graduate who hasn’t read this? I’m struggling through, and I’ll continue to do so for the sake of being a (belated) good literature student. It may require a lot of Kate Bush, though.

The Falconer by Elizabeth May
Page 74. This is my partner’s current favourite fantasy novel, and I can see why. I’m very much enjoying this right now, and the world the author has created, containing steampunk technology and faeries, is very cool. I’m finding the main character and her narrative really appealing, and can’t wait to see if she achieves her (rather violent) goal.

Finished in July

The Angel Tree by Lucinda Riley

(672 pages, Published 2015)
Finished on July 14th.
3/5 stars

The Angel Tree

Mixed feelings about this one. On one hand, I just about loathed the characters. On the other hand, I found myself completely hooked on the story and the tragedies unfolding. And, seriously. The fact I even completed a 600-page book is a miracle these days. It was quite special, although I had a few issues with the author’s writing style. Probably wouldn’t read it again, but I feel like I learned a lot from this book – about writing, about family relationships, about love, and about the times in which these characters live. 19/08/16 See the full review here.

To see my full reading list, check out my Goodreads account!


What have you been reading this month?

Leave a Reply

