Books

August Reading Wrap-Up

At the beginning of the year I set myself a reading goal – just like I do every year. I used to aim high, but since my reading habits have faltered, I decided this year to go low. Back in January, however, I wasn’t sure if I’d actually hit the target, let alone pass it; so the measley goal – finish 12 books in 2016 – seems quite anti-climactic now!

To more experienced readers it also probably seems a bit silly. Only 12 books? What was I thinking? I get you – I totally get you. Next year I’m definitely hoping to aim for more, especially since the fact that I am a mere two books away has given me a lot of confidence! But then again, I think the fact I’ve had a more reachable goal to aim for this year has given me a big boost in reading. Last year, when I aimed for 15, I found myself unmotivated and convinced I’d never hit it.

August Reads

Wuthering Heights The Falconer The Girl on the Stairs

August was a great month for me in terms of reading. Whereas every other month this year I’ve finished one or two books (or, of course, none), in August I finished three! – which is nothing short of awesome in my book. (Pun intentional.) I think the fact I was off work definitely helped, as I was reading a lot during the day as well as my reading routine, but I’m hoping to keep up this momentum well into September.

And the great thing is, the three books I managed to finish in August are definitely ones I’m going to remember for a while.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (22/06/16 – 15/08/16), 245 pages
I’m glad I read it… but only because it means I’ve ticked another classic off my list. I found it to be depressing, disturbing, hardgoing and not particularly rewarding, and I’m very surprised – and chuffed – that I actually finished the thing rather than giving it up. See my post on Wuthering Heights here.

The Falconer by Elizabeth May (15/07/16 – 21/08/16), 317 pages
I had extremely high hopes for this book, and in all honesty, it definitely delivered. I have my gripes with it, as I do with a lot of YA literature, but overall it was quite a pleasant experience! I’m hoping to eventually read The Vanishing Throne – the sequel to The Falconer – after I’ve given myself a bit of a break. (Review post coming soon!)

The Girl on the Stairs by Louise Welsh (22/08/16 – 17/08/16), 293 pages
I absolutely adored this book. There was just something about it – something in the way the author portrayed the main character’s isolation, and how the whole thing made me incredibly paranoid. I’d definitely recommend this for anyone who enjoys thrillers and crime fiction. My goodness. (Review post coming soon!)

Pages read in August: 855

Currently Reading

The Cuckoo's Calling

While I generally like to have two books on the go at once, I’m currently just reading the one. With the extreme speed it took for me to read The Girl on the Stairs (5 days. FIVE!) I’m trying to keep up momentum and finish this current book quickly. But we’ll see!

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith – started August 29
Page 127. While I admit I haven’t read any more of JK Rowling’s non-Harry Potter books, I’ve found her stories under Robert Galbraith to sound very intriguing. And so far, I’m very glad I’ve decided to dive in. Her writing is as sharp and intelligent as ever, and I haven’t yet found a character I don’t like. And, as sad as it sounds, I’m really enjoying playing “Spot the phrase that sounds like JK Rowling wrote it.”

2016 Reading Goal Update

10/12 books read
(as of 4th September 2016)

I was obviously reading before I started this blog, so a lot of these books I haven’t actually mentioned on the blog before. Gasp! I know. I am really excited for The Cuckoo’s Calling to be my 11th, and we’ll see which book I choose for that 12th slot…

  1. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green (07/02/16)
  2. And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini (02/03/16)
  3. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (19/05/16)
  4. Quiet by Susan Cain (nf) (24/05/16)
  5. The Farm by Tom Rob Smith (20/06/16)
  6. Northern Lights by Philip Pullman (22/06/16)
  7. The Angel Tree by Lucinda Riley (review) (14/07/16)
  8. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (review) (15/08/16)
  9. The Falconer by Elizabeth May (21/08/16)
  10. The Girl on the Stairs by Louise Welsh (27/08/16)
  11. ???
  12. ???

To see my full reading list, check out my Goodreads account!


What are you reading this month?

2 thoughts on “August Reading Wrap-Up

  1. I totally get what you mean about setting an achievable reading goal.
    I set mine really low this year too after feeling like I was reading just to reach the number the year before. It just gives you more freedom and makes reading that bit more enjoyable rather than it becoming almost like a chore.

    1. Yeah – I was setting myself a goal of 15 books during the years when it took me about 2 months to finish one book, and it just got me down. Last year I lowered it to 10 books and only just scraped by, so raising it a bit this year seemed sensible. I still didn’t think I’d be on 10 books by September, though!

Leave a Reply

