Books

September Reading Wrap-Up

Well, I didn’t keep up my miraculous momentum from August, unfortunately. But who cares? September was an awesome month for reading, simply because the book I finished was, well, awesome.

September Reads

The Cuckoo's Calling

The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (29/08/16 – 28/09/16), 550 pages
I didn’t think I’d like it, but my gosh, I loved it. I wish I could say it was entirely not down to the fact that the author is JK Rowling, but honestly, I’ve fallen in love with her writing all over again. Her characters were well developed, her descriptions so detailed; and while the plot wasn’t at its strongest, I was completely gripped because of how real everything was made to feel. If you’re unsure whether or not you want to read this, I’m telling you now: you do. (Review post coming soon!)

Pages read in August: 550

Currently Reading

utopia when-hitler-stole-pink-rabbit

Back to reading two books at once, and back to reading those weird-old classics. I’m hoping to have both of these finished by the end of October, because I’m worried that NaNoWriMo will eat up all my reading time. But we’ll see – my progress so far is certainly promising!

Utopia by Thomas More – started September 28
Page 42. I genuinely thought this book was written later than it was. Strange, isn’t it? How you have existing perceptions of books despite otherwise knowing nothing about them. I’ve barely started the story yet – it’s all just set-up, or, at least, it feels like it – but so far I’m very intrigued. And cautious. Quite cautious.

When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr – started October 2
Page 35. I was supposed to have studied this book back in uni, during the children’s literature module I took. However, just because of the way things turned out, I didn’t end up finishing it – choosing instead to look at The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas. It’s always bugged me that Kerr is passing off her own autobiographical story as fiction – by, for example, changing people’s names – but I’ve otherwise heard nothing but great things about this book. I hope it lives up to those things!

2016 Reading Goal Update

11/12 books read
(as of 2nd October 2016)

Now begins the race to see which of the two above books becomes my 12th in 2016!

  1. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green (07/02/16)
  2. And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini (02/03/16)
  3. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (19/05/16)
  4. Quiet by Susan Cain (nf) (thoughts on) (24/05/16)
  5. The Farm by Tom Rob Smith (20/06/16)
  6. Northern Lights by Philip Pullman (22/06/16)
  7. The Angel Tree by Lucinda Riley (review) (14/07/16)
  8. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (review) (15/08/16)
  9. The Falconer by Elizabeth May (review) (21/08/16)
  10. The Girl on the Stairs by Louise Welsh (review) (27/08/16)
  11. The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (29/09/16)
  12. ???

To see my full reading list, check out my Goodreads account!


What are you reading this month?

Leave a Reply

