Creative Writing · NaNoWriMo

It’s Beginning… (NaNoWriMo 2016)

October 1st hit on Saturday, and the website was finally refreshed. Everyone’s buzzing – novels are being thought up, characters are being talked to. NaNoWriMo begins in less than a month.

Last year, at this point I wasn’t really feeling it. I remember writing a blog post about how I didn’t really want to participate that year, and how I felt like I was only doing it because I’d participated every year since 2008. And yet, by November 30 last year I had 50,101 words. I still don’t really know how I did it.

This year, my mindset is – thankfully – a lot better. I’m so excited this year – I have my novel idea, my rough plans, my somewhat-developed characters, and I’m eager to continue planning until the end of the month. I’m excited for the challenge again; and, most of all, to get this idea I’ve had since July onto paper. (Well, Word document.)

The joke is, last year I knew I’d have the time to win. This year, I’m extremely doubtful. Ask anyone with a full-time job and they’ll tell you that participating in NaNo while working is pretty risky – you’re limited largely to evenings and weekends, and if you fall behind, it may be a week until you can sit down to catch up. This will be the first time I’m attempting NaNo while working these hours, and I’m quite nervous about it. Participating in NaNoWriMo is a full-time thing in itself, particularly if you need some encouragement to hit that 1,667 words each day.

But the great thing is, this year I’m really eager to try. I know that it’ll be hard – probably the hardest since I started participating – but that is, currently, just making the challenge more appealing. It means that I’ll have to prepare more in October, and preferably have a concrete plan by the start of November that I can work from. It means I’ll have to squeeze in writing to any minute I have spare during the month itself, including lunchtimes and mornings – something I don’t normally incorporate into my routine. And it also means that any wordcount I manage – even if I don’t hit 50k – will be an even bigger achievement this year.

NaNoWriMo is such a great thing. And I really, really can’t wait for it.

nanowrimo_2016_webbanner_participant

Are you participating? Check out my profile here, and let me know yours!

6 thoughts on “It’s Beginning… (NaNoWriMo 2016)

  1. I am planning on participating again this year. It is hard to find time and although I’m yet to complete the 50K count, I usually end up with some pretty kick butt material by the end of the month.
    My goal for this year is to utilize NaNo in writing a compilation of short stories for my illustration story book project. I am trying to prepare and outline ideas for it, so that when November 1st hits I can just sit down and write.
    I’ve also written a post on Kicking Off NaNoWriMo during the month of October. Here’s the link if you want to check it out: http://tamararokicki.com/2016/08/kicking-off-nanowrimo-prep-season/
    Happy Writing!

  2. I’m going to take part in nano for the first time this year. Although I’m not writing a novel but short stories about the characters to help me when I finally do get around to writing my story. I’m Princess Blue on nanowrimo.

    1. I wrote short stories last year and it was a lot of fun! And it’s certainly a great idea to write stories about your characters. I sometimes find, however, that the characters run away with me then, and suddenly the main novel’s plot seems less interesting! It’s all part of the fun though πŸ™‚ Good luck with it!!

      1. Hehe. I have all the short stories ideas down and they’re all to do with how they get to where they are at the start of the real story. So hopefully they’ll fuel the plot rather than derail me.

Leave a Reply

