Bullet Journal · Creative Writing · NaNoWriMo

Simple NaNoWriMo Bullet Journal Spread (NaNoWriMo 2016)

So, NaNoWriMo starts tomorrow! In fact, as I’m writing this many countries in the world are starting the challenge, and the UK is only a few hours away from November 1st. Hoorah! Isn’t it exciting?!

Despite it not being midnight yet, I know that this year will be the first that I won’t have done a midnight start. I mean, I could stay up *if I wanted* and do some writing *if I wanted*, but I’m sure my colleagues would rather me not be a misery-guts tomorrow morning. So, this year and this year only, I’m going to give it a miss. If I’m awake at midnight still, I’ll most likely be watching an episode of Merlin or reading something. (I lead a simple life.)

To be honest, I don’t really feel ready for NaNo. In fact, I still have no idea how I’m going to do it this year! I’ve told myself that as long as I write something every day, even if it’s only a few hundred words, I’m still winning. Really, I’m not bothered about word sprints and writing prompts and plot bunnies this year – I care too much for the story and the characters to rush it all, and would definitely rather take my time with things. I’m a wuss, I know. But considering I’ve won two years in a row now and participated in seven, I think I’m allowed a lazy year. I’m not pantsing it, but I haven’t done much prep either – I’m just going to go in tomorrow morning and see what happens. If I hit 50k at the end of the month then great, but if not, at least I will have written something!

Of course, I wanted to give myself incentive to keep writing every day, so I started up a page in my Bullet Journal for November that I’m hoping will do the trick. And here it is:

spread-1

It’s a very simple page. I just drew out 30 boxes – 15 on each page – and then decorated them with doodles and little motivational quotes. I also colour-coded them with my own day of the week colour-coding system and labelled them 1-30. The idea is that I fill in the box at the end of each day with the number of words written that day. It won’t be a running total – I may have to find something else to display that – but instead it’ll guilt me in to writing every day and having a number to put in the box. (I’ll definitely use lots of red ink and angry faces if I end up with empty boxes.)

spread-2

If all works well, I’ll definitely use this or something similar and attempt to keep up a writing routine into December as well. I’m really eager to make this into more than just a month-long thing; far too often I do the intense writing during November and then can’t stand the sight of the novel afterwards. I’m hoping this year that this novel will stretch to further than 50k off the bat, and that I can use NaNoWriMo as a springboard to getting that writing in every day instead of it being a one-off event. It’s great having something to look forward to every year, but ugh. I want to write more!!

Check out my NaNo profile here. 🙂 Are you doing NaNo this year? What are you doing during November to help keep you writing every day? Do you have any similar pages in your journal?

2 thoughts on “Simple NaNoWriMo Bullet Journal Spread (NaNoWriMo 2016)

  1. I actually started nano a day early whoops. But it was Monday, the start of the week and I felt like it should have been the start of November too. Lol. I felt like writing today and knowing my luck, if I’d had waited to start till tomorrow I wouldn’t have wanted too!
    I’m hoping that I’ll manage to write something everyday. Even if it’s just a hundred words. To keep me motivated to keep going. I’ve never done nano before. I’m not aiming to win though. If I manage to do 20k then it’ll be beyond my wildest dreams.

    1. Hehe, not sure that is allowed, but I’ll let you off! 🙂 That’s definitely the spirit – you can get yourself down by not reaching the daily target or you can accept a smaller, more reachable goal. 20k is still difficult! I have no idea what wordcount I’ll get to this year, but as long as I write every day I’ll be happy. Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

