Creative Writing · NaNoWriMo

NaNoWriMo: My First Off Day (36,677)

week-3-graph

Every single day this month I have written something. I’ve barely kept up the daily goal, but every morning/lunch/evening I have written something towards this trainwreck of a novel, and I’ve managed to stay above the line that the NaNo website enjoys taunting us with.

I’ve written something every day. Every day, that is, except yesterday.

I know what you’re thinking. “Why is she writing this blog post instead of doing her NaNo?” My reply is simply: because I have to rant. I have to rant because I was doing so well, was just about keeping up with the NaNoWriMo graph, and now that I’m behind – now that my graph is flat – I’ve just… lost inspiration. I’ll need 3,400 words today to catch up, but I’m working a later shift and ridiculously tired after yesterday. Tomorrow, if I haven’t managed many words today, I’ll need even more to survive. It may be an uphill struggle from now on, trying to stay afloat. Nothing I’ve done previously matters now, because it’s just one day – one stupid day – that has dragged me under.

This is why this challenge annoys me somewhat. I missed ONE DAY. And now the pressure is so high I just want to give up.

Of course, I’ll try my hardest not to give up. Hopefully. I’ll see how much I can write today, and tomorrow, and then if I don’t finish the month with 50k, who cares?! I have written something every single day but one. That is more than I’ve ever done before, and certainly worth more than hitting the 50k on November 30th. I need to keep writing every day because I want to keep this routine up long past November, even if I only manage 300 words a day.

nanobujo4-241116

Ugh. Let’s see how I get on.

2 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo: My First Off Day (36,677)

  1. I feel your pain. I’ve recently got a massive headache from staring at a screen writing everyday and have had to take a couple of days off because it hurts too much. Think of all those words I haven’t written. But we’ve still managed so much. Hang in there 🙂

    1. Even worse, I realised I’d put the wrong wordcount in the title of this post. I thought I was on 37,677 but I was actually on 36,677. BAH! Aw man I keep wanting to take days off but so far haven’t. I know what you mean though – it’s so intense having to look at a screen all the time. If it means you’ll come back fighting though, do it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

