Books

October and November Reading Wrap-Up

For obvious reasons, my reading habits have faltered over the past few months. I’ve definitely slipped back into not involving it within my routine as easily as I have over the rest of the year, unfortunately. And that makes me sad. I’m hoping to really get back to it from now on – there’s still so many books to read.

October Reads

when-hitler-stole-pink-rabbit

When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr (02/10/16 – 15/10/16), 246 pages
Well, as you’ll know by now, I’ve certainly had a love-hate relationship with this book since being introduced to it at university. But I’m glad I read it – it was nice to get another perspective on that era of time, and the story was certainly insightful. I can’t imagine going through what Judith/Anna did and staying so positive all the way. That’s not to say I think this book deserves more than 3 stars, but I don’t regret the 13 days it took to read. See my review of When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit here.

November Reads

utopia call-the-midwife

Utopia by Thomas More (28/09/16 – 03/11/16), 154 pages
This took me the longest out of any book this year, considering its length. And my goodness – what is there even to say about this? I can see why it’s a classic and why it’s somewhat revolutionary and important, but was it entertaining? No. Was it meant to be? Probably not. The reason it took me so long was because I wasn’t particularly enjoying it. Rather than a story, it’s just one long description of a perfect world. It goes on and on and on, exploring each and every element of life and culture. And then the person talking to us suddenly stops and goes to bed, and that’s it. How. Bizarre. (Review post coming soon!)

Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth (01/11/16 – 28/11/16), 340 pages
This was excellent. I never actually watched the BBC TV programme except for maybe one or two of the Christmas specials, so I wasn’t sure what to expect from the book. But after making a few decisions relating to the timeframe of my NaNoWriMo project, I realised that it might be a good idea to read it. And I’m very glad I did. Jennifer Worth was very good at setting the scene and characterising everything, from the people to the buildings, and it was fascinating hearing her account of such an important time period of London. Strangely addictive, this book is well worth reading. (Review post coming soon!)

Currently Reading

norwegian-wood

I’m currently reluctant to have two books on the go, just because I don’t want to end up neglecting one of them. Part of me is actually enjoying putting all of my reading time into one book, too – so I may keep it like this for a while!

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami – started November 20th
Page 114 (first of two smaller, 400-page volumes). This is one of those books I challenged myself to read as soon as possible, simply because I’ve put off reading it for so long. And initially, within the first few pages, I could understand why I didn’t want to read it – it seemed overly romantic, shallow, and quite uninteresting. It took a long time for me to get started, but I’m happy to say that once I got past those first few pages, everything got a lot better. I’m now really enjoying this book and the characters I’m following, and hopefully it won’t take me too long to get through this.

2016 Reading Update

14 books read
(as of 11th December 2016)

I hope I’m guaranteed to hit 15 books finished this year. But I wonder if I could even get above that?!

  1. An Abundance of Katherines by John Green (07/02/16)
  2. And the Mountains Echoed by Khaled Hosseini (02/03/16)
  3. Shadow and Bone by Leigh Bardugo (19/05/16)
  4. Quiet by Susan Cain (nf) (thoughts on) (24/05/16)
  5. The Farm by Tom Rob Smith (20/06/16)
  6. Northern Lights by Philip Pullman (22/06/16)
  7. The Angel Tree by Lucinda Riley (review) (14/07/16)
  8. Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte (review) (15/08/16)
  9. The Falconer by Elizabeth May (review) (21/08/16)
  10. The Girl on the Stairs by Louise Welsh (review) (27/08/16)
  11. The Cuckoo’s Calling by Robert Galbraith (review) (28/09/16)
  12. When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit by Judith Kerr (review) (15/10/16)
  13. Utopia by Thomas More (03/11/16)
  14. Call the Midwife by Jennifer Worth (28/11/16)

To see my full reading list, check out my Goodreads account!


What are you reading this month?

Leave a Reply

