2017 Reading Challenge · Books · Mini Reading Challenges · Review

New Year Schedule (+ December Reading Wrap-Up)

Happy New Year!

December got really quite busy for me, and I regretted almost immediately creating that page in my journal regarding my posting schedule. But hey, at least I had… hopes and dreams. It just happened I didn’t fulfil them. Bleh.

Review System

My book review posts are going to change slightly from now on. Normally, they have a varying length depending on what I want to write but cap at about 1000 words. Now, however, I want to cap their length at 500 words and make them into more concise, less rambling, more straightforward reviews.

This is for many reasons. 1) The prospect of having to fill 800-1000 words with my ramblings about a book every Sunday is sometimes a bit daunting. 2) 500 words means less time writing reviews, more time reading. 3) Sometimes I wonder if a longer review is needed for every book.

2017 Reading Challenge

Well, I completely thrashed my 2016 reading goal, finishing 16 books! It was quite a proud moment for me, as I really did put a lot of effort into reading last year. I wanted to fully integrate reading into my daily life after it feeling absent for so long, and I think I succeeded. I think re-joining Goodreads helped, too – because on there, you really are surrounded by wonderful books.

This year, my goal is to finish 24 books. That’s a hell of a lot. For all you mathematicians, that’s 2 books a month. I did manage to do that some months last year simply by having two books on the go at once; but to do it every single month will certainly be a challenge. But I’m up for it! The idea will be to finish the first book by the 15th day, and the second book by the start of the next month. It’s a very idyllic concept, but it might just work if I put my mind to it.

What I need to do is make sure I don’t get disheartened if I manage to miss a month. At the end of the day, my goal is still just to read as much as I can, and this silly number doesn’t make all that much difference. But there is part of me who wants to be one of those people who finishes a ridiculous number of books in a year. And 24 is my next step towards that!

December Reading Wrap-Up

December turned out to be quite a productive month of reading, although I can’t say that one of the books I finished was the best I could have ended the year on.

norwegian-wood

Norwegian Wood by Haruki Murakami (20/11/16 – 18/12/16), 494 pages
Oh my goodness. This was one of the books off my “read it to get it off your shelf” list, and boy do I have mixed feelings about reading it. On the one hand, I feel like I’ve read a classic and become a lot more in-tune with literature as a whole. On the other hand, I feel like I made myself suffer unnecessarily. This book always gets extremely polarising reviews – you either love it and understand its beauty like you would a dew-covered rose, or you hate it – and I must admit I might be gearing more towards the south pole than the north. Sheesh. I do want to review it, but at the same time I’m not sure if I can even put my feelings on this book into legible English.

a-gift-from-bob

A Gift from Bob by James Bowen (19/12/16 – 29/12/16), 170 pages
Awwh. I wanted to end the year on something Christmas themed and uplifting, and while a lot of the narrative is intentionally quite depressing, I’m glad I read this. I read the first book a year ago and somewhat enjoyed it (if enjoyed is really a word I should be using) and things were very similarly written here. It was a bit trying having James recite the same details about his life as before, but I suppose this still has to act as a gateway book. Anyway, it had a nice positive ending and took me nicely through the Christmas break, and was a very nice contrast after Norwegian Wood. But, then, I don’t think that’s something any book would struggle with.

Currently Reading

oh-my-stars

Oh My Stars by Lorna Landvik – started December 29th
This is actually the first book I’ve so much as touched recently that I have already read. It was quite a few years ago, though – I think even before I went to university. I can remember really liking it and have kept it ever since, adamant that I want it to remain in my collection. Well, we’ll soon see if my sentiments stay the same. So far, it’s very blunt, very sad, but also very hopeful. I’m not getting through it very quickly right now, and I’m cursing myself for starting the year on a 400-page book, but I’m willing to keep on going. Let’s just hope I can get it finished by the 15th! (Hah!)

To see my full reading list, check out my Goodreads account!


What are you reading this month?

2 thoughts on “New Year Schedule (+ December Reading Wrap-Up)

Leave a Reply

