Creative Writing · February 2017 Daily Prompts

February Writing Prompts: Day 1, “Find the Solution”

(212 words)

There’s a solution to everything, isn’t there? Problems are like two ends of a length of string, able to be brought together in a tight knot if only you know how to tie it. There’s nothing that can’t be solved.

That’s what I told him, anyway. I told him about the string, and about forgiveness, and about the ease of tying that knot. Making that connection. I told him how there’s nothing in the world so perfect as imperfection, and I even told him that I’d do anything – anything! – for us to find the solution to this.

I wish I could say that he received it well.

I stood outside his front door, some string in my left hand and a written apology in the other. I posted the letter through the letterbox and made a circle out of the string. That too I pushed through the slot. I listened out for the light thud of it hitting his doormat.

When I got home, I received a text. It was from him. It was a photo of the length of string lying on his doormat, unravelled and severed. One end still contained the knot, but the other was frayed. His message was clear. There’s no way that string could be tied again.


I’ve decided to start including creative writing on this blog, and am committing to completing a short writing prompt every day during February. The prompts have been taken from here, although I may shuffle some of the days around if I fancy. The rules for writing here are: there are no rules. So these pieces can be as long, as short, as rubbish or as good as I want them to be. It’s all practice, right?

One thought on “February Writing Prompts: Day 1, “Find the Solution”

  1. So glad you’re doing this, I really enjoyed this piece 😊

    And you’re right – there are no rules, it’s just about writing something! Can’t wait to keep reading!

Leave a Reply

