Creative Writing · Daily Writing Prompts

February Writing Prompts: Day 4, “Trained To Do It”

(186 words)

I mew once, and then I mew again. I dance around on my tip-toes, circling the chair legs and rubbing my gums against them. I mew even louder, my tail pointing in the air.

“Oh, stop it!” the human cries. “Stop showing off!”

I scamper to the door, then I turn around and return to where the human is sat. I rub my gums against the chair again. I’m getting bored of the sound of my own voice now, but I know not to give up. She’ll break eventually.

Finally, the human stands. “All right. Show me what you want.”

I turn and run to the door leading onto the garden. I swirl around in front of it, singing and dancing. I can see my reflection and it excites me. I press my front paws against the glass and mew again. The world outside looks big and interesting.

The human smiles; I knew she would. “I’ve got you well trained, haven’t I?” She opens the door and I run out as fast as I can, knowing that she is mistaken: it’s me who has her trained.


Every day during February I’m going to write a piece of creative writing inspired by a prompt. The prompts have been taken from here, although I may shuffle some of the days around if I fancy.

Leave a Reply

