Creative Writing · Daily Writing Prompts

February Writing Prompts: Day 9, “Very Subtle”

(148 words)

“I know it was you.”

She gulped. “How?”

Ryan smirked and folded his arms. “Well, where do I start? Aside from leaving a false nail on the backseat, a coffee cup on the dashboard and one of your hairclips in the footwell, you decided to leave a note on my windscreen saying ‘Laura was ‘ere’.”

Laura, relieved, shrugged her shoulders and smiled. “Yes, okay, I was drunk and I broke into your car,” she said. “What’s new?”

But Ryan then dropped his smile and took a step closer to Laura, who reflexively took a step back. “I know it was you, Laura,” he said, all trace of the brother she knew suddenly erased from his face. “I know it was you who…”

Before he could finish, Laura ducked around him and began to run. Ryan, six, stood and watched after his little sister. He’d get her next time.


Every day during February I’m going to write a piece of creative writing inspired by a prompt. The prompts have been taken from here, although I may shuffle some of the days around if I fancy.

Leave a Reply

