Creative Writing · Daily Writing Prompts

February Writing Prompts: Days 11 and 12, “That’s the Plan” and “A Good Man”

“That’s The Plan” (109 words)

“You mean to tell me that aside from what you’ve actually prepared, you have no idea what is actually going to happen from one day to the next; that the future is a complete mystery to you and everyone around you, and that you all live your lives blind in the hope that your imminent death won’t strike when you least expect it?”

I shrugged, the pixie hovering above my left shoulder. “That’s the plan.”

The pixie sighed. “You humans with your linear sense of life and time. How dull.” He rested himself on my shoulder and started chuckling. “Wake me up when you’re ready to have some fun.”


“A Good Man” (220 words)

They always told me that I’d grow up to be like my dad. I was always praised with how good my manners were, and how creative my mind became. They believed I’d follow in his footsteps without a doubt, and that my physical likeness to him would manifest itself in our mutual talents. They always told me that I, too, would grow up to be a good man.

All that changed when I learned the truth about my father. I now resent any comparisons, and feel offended by anyone claiming that we are at all alike. I look at my father and all I see is evil, with his attempts at redemption nothing but feeble and insincere acts of ignorance. What he did was unforgivable. And to this day, I’m the only person who believes he committed the crime.

I know now that what something appears to be on the outside isn’t necessarily representative of the thing itself. On the outside I may appear to be a good son, and to have the manners and imagination previously found within my father’s own personality. But on the inside, that bastard and I could not be more different.

The only thing we have in common is that we are both far from being good men. I know myself better than the rest.


Every day during February I’m going to write a piece of creative writing inspired by a prompt. The prompts have been taken from here, although I may shuffle some of the days around if I fancy.

And yes, I’m only human, so I missed a day. But I made up for it today by posting two! Right? Also, it’s worth mentioning that a lot of these prompts are turning into opportunities for me to write the beginning of an idea, or else a concept, rather than a complete story or idea. This may seem confusing to some readers, but in my eyes it’s still being creative.

One thought on “February Writing Prompts: Days 11 and 12, “That’s the Plan” and “A Good Man”

Leave a Reply

