Creative Writing · Daily Writing Prompts

February Writing Prompts: Day 18, “Play a Game”

(133 words)

I opened the door and there they both were, lying on their stomachs and pouring over a colourful board game they had laid out on the floor. As I watched, they rolled dice and moved their plastic figured across the board, chatting away. This newfound friendship, until now non-existent, looked to be positively affecting them both. Their laughs were piercing but warm, and they looked so happy. I couldn’t really believe my eyes: only yesterday they had been pulling at each other’s hair, screaming the house down and swearing to never speak to each other again.

Without speaking to them or letting them know of my presence, I gently retreated and closed the door behind me. I had only just got my girls back. I couldn’t break the bad news to them yet.


Every day during February I am writing and posting a piece of creative writing inspired by a prompt. The prompts are being taken from here, although I may shuffle some of the days around if I fancy.

Not very happy with today’s, but come on, it’s been 18 days! I’m allowed to feel burnt out every once in a while, right?

3 thoughts on “February Writing Prompts: Day 18, “Play a Game”

  1. I’m feeling burnt out from it too, writing every day is taking it out of me, you’re doing amazingly though, keep going!

    1. I’ve already fallen off! Will do a review blog post soon. I thought you’ve been doing really well – definitely can’t tell you’re getting burnt out! Definitely glad I only committed to February rather than the full year! hehe.

Leave a Reply

